- There is no straightforward way to check if you are blocked by someone on the WhatsApp profile.
- However, there are some indirect indicators that you can check, like the Last Seen Status and the WhatsApp Tick mark.
When someone blocks your profile on WhatsApp, you won’t get any notification about the update. Due to privacy concerns, WhatsApp is not disclosing the blocked profile information. If you want to know about a profile that might have blocked you on WhatsApp, there are some hacks that you can try.
When an account blocks you on WhatsApp, there will be some restrictions for both accounts (blocking account and blocked account). By cross-verifying those restrictions, you can determine if someone blocked you or not. You can check the last seen of the profile and check the WhatsApp Tick mark to confirm whether you have been blocked or not.
In this guide, you will get to know about the tips to check if someone blocked you on WhatsApp. You can verify this on the WhatsApp app on your Android smartphone or iPhone.
Information Use !!
Concerned about online trackers and introducers tracing your internet activity? Or do you face geo-restrictions while streaming? Get NordVPN - the ultra-fast VPN trusted by millions, which is available at 69% off + 3 Months Extra. With the Double VPN, Split tunneling, and Custom DNS, you can experience internet freedom anytime, anywhere.
Check the Last Seen Status
Open WhatsApp web or app and open the chat of the contact from the chat list. If you have previously had a chat, find the name from the contacts and start a new chat. On the top of the chat window, you will find the person’s name with the time stamp just below it. It looks like “last seen today at 18:12” or “online.” If you can see this, then you are not blocked by that person.
But if you don’t see anything, then there are chances that you may be blocked by the contact. Also, it is not confirmed because WhatsApp has the feature to hide the last seen from others. So, let us proceed to the next step to confirm this.
Check WhatsApp Status
If someone blocks you on WhatsApp, you can’t see the status update from them. Go to the Updates tab and check for any updates from the profile. If you are not getting any status updates from the profile, then the account might have blocked you.
Keep in mind that anyone can hide the status on WhatsApp without blocking you. So, ask any of your mutual friends to know if you are blocked on WhatsApp.
Check the Contact’s Profile Picture / Display Picture
On the chat window, the person’s profile picture will display on top to the left of the contact’s name. If you are blocked by the contact, then you will no longer see the updates on the profile picture. You will see the same old contact picture when you had the last chat if you have been blocked by the contact.
Again, this is not so convincing as the person may not have changed the display picture. A lot of people never change their WhatsApp profile pictures so frequently. So, move on to the next step.
Chat with the Contact
WhatsApp indicates the status of the messages you send with ticks. There are three different indications in it.
- A single grey tick means that your message has been sent to the contact.
- Double grey tick means that your message has been delivered to the contact.
- If the double grey tick turns blue, it means the person has read your message.
So send a message directly to the contact and if you see only a single tick, then you might have been blocked by the contact. This may also happen if the person’s phone cannot connect to the internet or he might have lost his/her phone.
As there is no official way to verify the blocked profile, all three hacks will give you a hint of blocking.
Create a WhatsApp group and add a few contacts along with the suspected contact. If you can add them as usual, then you are not blocked. Or if you are displayed a message “you are not authorized to add this contact,” then it is confirmed that you have been blocked by the contact. But, with the latest WhatsApp update, this setting has changed. You can add the blocked profile to the WhatsApp group without any restriction.
With the new update, old restrictions like calling the WhatsApp account are no longer a valid option. If you are using the old version, update the WhatsApp from the Play Store or App Store. The only way to confirm it is by contacting the person directly in any other medium.
How to Get Unblocked on WhatsApp
Actually, you cannot do anything to unblock yourself. The only possible way is to make a call to the person and clear the issue. There are some third-party tools like WhatsApp Block Checker, WhatsApp Unblock App, and other WhatsApp Mod apps to bypass the block restrictions. We don’t recommend using those tools. WhatsApp might block your account permanently if you use unauthorized tools.
Yes, you can block your WhatsApp personal account and business account from your profile.
If you are blocked by someone on WhatsApp, you won’t see any status updates from them. With that as an indication, you can partially confirm that you are being blocked.
Disclosure: If we like a product or service, we might refer them to our readers via an affiliate link, which means we may receive a referral commission from the sale if you buy the product that we recommended, read more about that in our affiliate disclosure.